Massenet - Meditation From The Opera 'Thais' Flute solo, Piano D MAJOR - Jules Massenet Paul Taffanel

Availability: In stock (2)

Nyssma Level 4

One of the world's greatest encore pieces, the “Meditation” comes from the opera Thaïs, written by French composer Jules Massenet in 1893. Thaïs is based on a novel by the French author Anatole France, which tells of a fourth-century Egyptian courtesan called Thaïs, who was converted to Christianity by a hermit monk who lived in the desert, and eventually became a saint. The opera was a great success, and stayed in the repertory of the Paris Opera continuously until 1956. In the opera, the piece serves as a symphonic intermezzo in Act II. Although in its original form it is essentially a violin solo, it has been transcribed for almost every conceivable instrument, and is often played at flute recitals.


Composer: Jules Massenet
Arranger: Paul Taffanel
SKU: CU1028
Key: D major
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Set of Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
UPC: 7-98408-02765-0
ISBN: 978-0-8258-2765-5

0 stars based on 0 reviews